Poem – Broken

Hello everyone! It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve posted a poem, so I’m going to share another one today. 🙂 It’s another ‘pinterest-inspired’ piece, and it’s fully based on my imagination. It is not based off of any person I know or any experience I’ve had. Just pure writerly imagination.. 😀

This is the quote that sparked my imagination:

who were you?

 

And this is what I came up with:

Broken

 

Who were you

before they broke your heart?

What were you like

before they crushed your dreams?

I wonder

if I could’ve known you,

and come to love you

For who you once were?

I would’ve liked to see you dream,

to see your face light up with laughter,

and your eyes spark with happiness.

But

I will never know now

because

you and your broken heart

have broken mine.

You are a doubter

because you once were a dreamer

who had your dreams crushed.

You are a breaker of hearts

because you had your heart broken.

I will never know

who you once were,

you, the broken-hearted.

I will never share

in your dreams of life,

you, the doubter.

We will never know

each other

because of the wall.

The wall of brokenness

that separates us.

Oh you beautiful,

broken

doubter.

I will never know

who you were

before your heart was broken.

~

That’s it for today, thanks so much for reading! See you back here next week! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Poem – Broken

Leave a Reply

